Posted

print

favorite this post $490 / 180ft2 - Room available for June - August 9 (Midway/St. Paul) hide this posting unhide

12345678910111213
Edmund Ave near Oxford St

(google map)

180ft2 available jun 1

furnished
house
laundry in bldg
no smoking
street parking
no private bath
private room

We're looking for a friendly, happy person who wants to hang out with his or her roommates, to join our intentional community. Our new housemate must not smoke, drink only occasionally, have a clean, healthy lifestyle, is socially and emotionally mature, has experience living with others, and who could commit to spending a few hours a week with the housemates. We're looking for people for the summer and summer and the following school year.

We're looking for someone who is employed full time or who is studying and working, who appreciates a beautiful home and enjoys taking care of it, and who doesn't mind a carpenter working four afternoons a week for four hours a day. Our situation particularly suits people new to the Twin Cities who are looking for an immediate circle of friends. We have a basement room available June 1st through August 9th for $490/mo. The price includes utilities and Internet. A one month security deposit is required. Housemates contribute to the cost of consumable items like light bulbs, toilet paper, dish soap, hand soap, napkins and cleaning supplies. If tenants prefer not to help with the cleaning, they can add $40 to the monthly rent. The lease is month to month with a two month notice of departure. I've included pictures of most of the rooms in the house. Some are a bit outdated and do not reflect the improvements that have been made, particularly in the kitchen, dining room and basement bedrooms.

The house is located in the Midway Neighborhood of St. Paul placed in the center of an active neighborhood with groups that gathers for weekly barbecues, cooking classes, a book club, knitting club and community gardening. We are 3 blocks from the Green Line light rail and #16 bus. We are 3 miles from downtown St. Paul, and 8.2 miles from downtown Minneapolis. We are 6 miles from the East Bank of the UMN and 4 from the St. Paul campus. We are 3.3 miles from the University of St. Thomas. We are 4 miles from St. Kates. It takes about 30 minutes by light rail/bus or bike to get to these locations. We have easy access to bike lanes and are within walking distance of 4 grocery stores and 1.8 miles from Como lake. We are also about 5 blocks away from Hwy 94. The address is 1022 Edmund Ave. St. Paul, MN 55104.

Housemates share the entire house which includes an
updated, large, beautiful kitchen with copper sink, convection oven, lots of small appliances and lots of storage space and counter tops. We have two large newly renovated bathrooms, den, living room, dining room, library, laundry room, and lots of flower gardens.

We live a communal lifestyle as friends. Everyone buys and cooks his or her own food although we often have had a great time sharing a traditional Sunday meal together. One or two of us would cook a nice meal, set the table and we would all enjoy each other's company over good food and wine: it has been an occasion for "fine" dining. We also enjoy doing fun activities together like biking, bowling, watching movies, ice skating, and game nights. Regardless of what we choose to do, it is most important that whoever joins our household wants to commit to spending this kind of time in order to create a feeling of camaraderie and warmth in the house. We want to live with friends, not strangers.

We follow a few rules to keep things running smoothly in the house and to reduce cleaning time: We like a clean kitchen, so we wash, dry and put away our dishes, wiping off the counters, stove and table immediately after we cook. We each take a turn during the week to sweep the kitchen floor and wash out a bathroom sink. We each have a weekly chore which takes roughly an hour to do. If people prefer not to help out with the cleaning, they must add $60 to their rent. If they agree to clean, but don't and fail to talk with me about the inadvertence, I deduct $15 from the security deposit and do the cleaning myself.

Because all of the carpets are handmade orientals, we vacuum the common spaces every week and the bedrooms every two weeks. Doing so reduces the amount of dirt that penetrates and cuts the carpet fibers. We eat only in the kitchen and dining room to prevent spills and crumbs everywhere as well as the loss of dishes and silverware. Because 85% of the dirt coming into a house comes in on the bottom of shoes, we take our shoes off at the door and put them in the trunk under the stairs or take them upstairs to our bedrooms. To reduce clutter, we don't keep shoes under the stairs unless stored in the trunk.

We recycle everything possible. This includes all paper, plastic, cans, bottles, cardboard, even cardboard that has had food on it. We wash food containers before recycling them to prevent bugs and general grossness. We label food that is stored in shared spaces like the refrigerator and freezer. Each housemate has a cabinet space to store food, and there are overflow spaces for big things like cereal boxes, vinegar and oil bottles and so forth. Those of us who drink milk tend to buy a gallon together in order to conserve space in the frig and to have the freshest milk possible.

We try to keep the house quiet. So if people want to watch or listen to something, they use head phones or keep the volume low. To maintain privacy, we don't have overnight romantic guests. Family and friends visiting from out of town for a short while are fine, however.

The people living in the house are Brandon, and inter in electrical engineering, Mathieu, a visiting scholar in physics, Meredith, a teacher's assistant working with autistic children, Victor, a grad student in water resource management, and I, the homeowner, have a masters degree in Medieval literature, enjoy the outdoors, biking, watching costume dramas, going to the theater, traveling, board games, good food and good conversation. We also have Daisy, our cocker spaniel mix and Violet, our Russian Blue kitten.

We are looking for someone interested in cooperative living, enjoys people, has a steady income, and no furniture since the house is fully furnished, who enjoys keeping a house clean and neat, and enjoys hanging out with his or her housemates. No smokers please. If our situation intrigues you, please tell us about yourself, i.e., about your work, education, interests, family background, living habits, why you are interested in living in an intentional community, what qualities are necessary for living in an intentional community, and why we should select you to join our community. Please note that I will only respond to a written description of yourself.

Regards,
Teresa
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6877859602

posted:

updated:

best of [?]