Posted

print

favorite this post Dairy Hand seeking room (Howard Lake) hide this posting unhide

cats are OK - purrr

I have a nice one bedroom apartment, been here over 3 years, but find that the cost is unsustainable if I'm to stay on the Farm, which I very much prefer. In effect, I'm looking for a sponsor that has space to host a Dairy Hand, who is also a MN State U. graduate and 'starving artist'. Almost any living arrangement will do, if it's quiet; better if it includes some Yard or House chores to defray housing expenses. Here's my story:

So, as a lifestyle choice, working 50+ hours on the Farm is not the most lucrative path to take, but it sure beats the drudgery and insult of many other ways to spend one's working hours. Truth is, it's a financial hit that drives me into the red more and more every month. I had no idea that being 'self-employed' meant a double tax whammy, which in the end means sub-minimum take-home pay.

I've had lots of work, from more technical manufacturing to landscaping and now Farm the last couple years. By far, working on the Farm is the best 'mental health' solution to a culture of abuse one finds virtually everywhere else. It's truly unnerving what has become of our economic way of life that one can discover a vast preference for honorable poverty over dishonorable normalcy. But that's what I have found after a lifetime of experience, now in my fifth decade as a single (STRAIGHT) male. (apparently, my s. orientation requires clarification, based on a couple responses since first posted...sheesh*, get your head out of the gutter!)

Lifestyle wise, I'm up in the morning by 4:30 and in the Barn by 5:30; then work till about 10 am and home for breakfast by 10:30 usually, sometimes a bit earlier. After the morning shift I spend a couple hours reading news on the internet or, when the weather is nice, fishing at one of the local lakes and stocking-up on fillets of crappie or bass or sunfish, sometimes northern and walleye. I'll visit mom in Cokato when time allows. Then I take a nap for an hour or two and am up again by 3:30 and at the Barn by 4pm every day, seven days a week with a couple evenings off. Home by 8pm for a bite to eat and maybe a movie, then to bed by 11 to begin another day. Pretty simple, right? You bet. And I love it that way.

I wish I had a garden as whole foods are my number one discipline, so far as health goes. If I could find a rental agreement that allowed for that, I'd be in seventh heaven. That's about it. I'm healthy, no vices, well spoken and courteous, and hold to traditional values and a perfectly sound civic responsibility, willing and able to be of help when asked and available for chores/work to assist any prospective landlord with their property up-keep.


  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6865859821

posted:

updated:

best of [?]